Faculty Profile


Thomas Valente

Thomas Valente

Professor of Preventive Medicine Interim Chair of Preventive Medicine

tvalente@usc.edu
(323) 442-8238
Faisal Aboul-Enein

Faisal Aboul-Enein, DrPH, MSN, RN, FNP-BC, FRSPH, FACHE
Part-Time Lecturer of Preventive Medicine
aboulene@usc.edu


Hooman Allayee

Hooman Allayee, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
hallayee@usc.edu


Jon-Patrick Allem

Jon-Patrick Allem, Ph.D., M.A
Director, Social Media Analytics (SOMA) Lab
allem@usc.edu


Todd Alonzo

Todd Alonzo, Ph.D.
Professor of Research Preventive Medicine; Group Statistician for Children's Oncology Group
talonzo@childrensoncologygroup.org


Yasser Aman

Yasser Aman
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
yaman@usc.edu


Edward Avol

Edward Avol, M.S.
Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine; Division Chief, Environmental Health
avol@usc.edu


Lourdes Baez Conde

Lourdes Baez Conde, Ph.D., MPH, MA
Professor of Preventive Medicine; Associate Dean for Community Initiatives; Associate Director for Community Outreach and Engagement
baezcond@usc.edu


Hossein Bahrami

Hossein Bahrami
Assistant Professor-Medicine, Dual Appointment in PM
hbahrami@usc.edu


Donald Barkauskas

Donald Barkauskas, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
barkausk@usc.edu


Jessica Barrington-Trimis

Jessica Barrington-Trimis, PhD, MS, MA
Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine
jtrimis@usc.edu


Theresa Bastain

Theresa Bastain, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
bastain@usc.edu


Britni Belcher

Britni Belcher, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine
bbelcher@usc.edu


Paige Berger

Paige Berger
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
pberger@usc.edu


Ahmad Besaratinia

Ahmad Besaratinia, M.P.H., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Research Preventive Medicine
besarati@usc.edu


David Black

David Black, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine
davidbla@usc.edu


Kacie Blackman

Kacie Blackman
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
kaciebla@usc.edu


Ricky Bluthenthal

Ricky Bluthenthal, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine; Associate Dean for Social Justice
rbluthen@usc.edu


Tess Boley Cruz

Tess Boley Cruz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
tesscruz@usc.edu


Carrie Breton

Carrie Breton, Sc.D.
Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine
breton@usc.edu


Thomas Buchanan

Thomas Buchanan
Professor of Medicine Vice Dean for ResearchDirector of the CTSI,Co-Director, Diabetes and Obesity Research InstituteEndocrine Division Chief in the Department of Medicine
buchanan@usc.edu


Jonathan Buckley

Jonathan Buckley, Ph.D.
Professor of Research Preventive Medicine
jbuckley@usc.edu


Rita Burke

Rita Burke, PhD., MPH
Assistant Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
rburke@usc.edu


Rachel Castaneda

Rachel Castaneda
Part-Time Lecturer
cast552@usc.edu


Brandy Chappell

Brandy Chappell
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
bchappel@usc.edu


Lida Chatzi

Lida Chatzi, MD, PhD
Professor of Preventive Medicine
chatzi@usc.edu


Jiu-Chiuan Chen

Jiu-Chiuan Chen, M.D., Sc.D.
Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine
jcchen@usc.edu


Zhanghua Chen

Zhanghua Chen, PhD
Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine
zhanghuc@usc.edu


Charleston Chiang

Charleston Chiang, PhD
Assistant Professor
charleston.chiang@med.usc.edu


Junhan Cho

Junhan Cho, PhD
Assistant Professor of Research Preventive Medicine
junhanch@usc.edu


Farzana Choudhury

Farzana Choudhury, PhD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
fchoudhu@usc.edu


Myles Cockburn

Myles Cockburn, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
mylesc@usc.edu


David Conti

David Conti, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
dconti@usc.edu


Lauren Cook

Lauren Cook
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
laurenco@usc.edu


Victoria Cortessis

Victoria Cortessis, PhD
Associate Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine; Director of Research in Obstetrics and Gynecology
cortessi@usc.edu


Panayiota Courelli

Panayiota Courelli
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
courelli@usc.edu


Michael Cousineau

Michael Cousineau, Dr.PH.
Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
cousinea@usc.edu


Wendy Cozen

Wendy Cozen, D.O., MPH
Professor of Preventive Medicine; Leader, Translational Epidemiology; Director, Population-based Tissue Procurement Core
wcozen@usc.edu


Ha Dang

Ha Dang, PhD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
hdang@childrensoncologygroup.org


Kayla de la Haye

Kayla de la Haye, PhD
Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine
delahaye@usc.edu


Adam de Smith

Adam de Smith, PhD
Assistant Professor of Clinical
desmith@usc.edu


Dennis Deapen

Dennis Deapen, DrPH, MPH
Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
ddeapen@usc.edu


Katherine Deland

Katherine Deland
Part Time Lecturer of Preventive Medicine
deland@usc.edu


Genevieve Dunton

Genevieve Dunton, Ph.D, MPH
Professor of Preventive Medicine and Psychology
dunton@usc.edu


Sandrah Eckel

Sandrah Eckel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine
eckel@usc.edu


Allison Estelle

Allison Estelle
Part-Time Lecturer of Preventive Medicine
aestelle@usc.edu


Albert Farias

Albert Farias, MPH, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine
albertfa@usc.edu


Shohreh Farzan

Shohreh Farzan, PhD
Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine
sffarzan@usc.edu


Laura Ferguson

Laura Ferguson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine
laurafer@usc.edu


Karen Finello

Karen Finello, PhD
Part-Time Lecturer
kfinello@usc.edu


Meredith Franklin

Meredith Franklin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
meredith.franklin@usc.edu


Erika Garcia

Erika Garcia
Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine
garc991@usc.edu


William Gauderman

William Gauderman, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
jimg@usc.edu


Frank Gilliland

Frank Gilliland, M.D., MPH, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
gillilan@usc.edu


Cynthia Gonzalez

Cynthia Gonzalez
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
clg18348@usc.edu


Evelyn Gonzalez-Figueroa

Evelyn Gonzalez-Figueroa, PhD, MPH
Part Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
gonz135@usc.edu


Amanda Goodrich

Amanda Goodrich, MS, PhD
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
ajgoodri@usc.edu


Stephen Gruber

Stephen Gruber
Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center Director
sgruber@usc.edu


Sofia Gruskin

Sofia Gruskin, JD, MIA
Director, Institute on Inequalities in Global Health; Director; Professor, Preventive Medicine (Keck); Professor, Law (Gould)
gruskin@usc.edu


Rima Habre

Rima Habre, MSc, ScD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
habre@usc.edu


Farhad Hagigi

Farhad Hagigi
Part-Time Lecturer for Preventive Medicine
hagigi@usc.edu


Christopher Haiman

Christopher Haiman, Sc.D.
Professor, AFLAC Chair in Cancer Research, Division Chief, Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics
haiman@usc.edu


Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton, PhD, MA
Professor of Research Preventive Medicine
ahamilt@usc.edu


Jaana Hartiala

Jaana Hartiala, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
hartiala@usc.edu


Allen Heller

Allen Heller
Clinical Professor of Preventive Medicine (Part-Time)
ahheller@usc.edu


Susanne Hempel

Susanne Hempel, PhD
Professor of Research Preventive Medicine
susanneh@usc.edu


Megan Herting

Megan Herting, PhD
Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine
herting@usc.edu


Jimi Huh

Jimi Huh, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Research Preventive Medicine
jimihuh@usc.edu


Amie Hwang

Amie Hwang, PhD
Assistant Professor Of Clinical Preventive Medicine
amiehwan@usc.edu


Sue Ingles

Sue Ingles, Dr.P.H.
Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine
ingles@usc.edu


Khandaker Islam

Khandaker Islam, MBBS, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Research Preventive Medicine
islam@usc.edu


Lingyun Ji

Lingyun Ji, PhD
Assistant Professor Of Clinical Preventive Medicine
lji@usc.edu


Xuejuan Jiang

Xuejuan Jiang
Assistant Professor of Research Ophthalmology
xuejuanj@usc.edu


Jill Johnston

Jill Johnston, PhD
Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine
jillj@usc.edu


Roksana Karim

Roksana Karim, Ph.D., MB.BS.
Associate Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
rkarim@usc.edu


Lorraine Kelley-Quon

Lorraine Kelley-Quon, PhD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Surgery, Peds/CHLA(dual appointment in PM)
kelleyqu@usc.edu


Sue Kim

Sue Kim, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
sueekim@usc.edu


Matthew Kirkpatrick

Matthew Kirkpatrick, PhD
Assistant Professor of Research Preventive Medicine
mgkirkpa@usc.edu


Mark Krailo

Mark Krailo, Ph.D.
Professor of Research Preventive Medicine
mkrailo@childrensoncologygroup.org


Shubha Kumar

Shubha Kumar, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Director, MPH Online Program Assistant Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
shubha.kumar@usc.edu


Eunjung Lee

Eunjung Lee, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Research Preventive Medicine
leee@usc.edu


Adam Leventhal

Adam Leventhal, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
adam.leventhal@usc.edu


Juan Pablo Lewinger

Juan Pablo Lewinger, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor Of Clinical Preventive Medicine
lewinger@usc.edu


Chun Li

Chun Li
Visiting Professor of Preventive Medicine
cli77199@usc.edu


Michael Li

Michael Li
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
limichae@usc.edu


Ming Li

Ming Li
Professor Of Research Preventive Medicine
mli69131@usc.edu


Xuejun Li

Xuejun Li
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
xuejunli@usc.edu


Lihua Liu

Lihua Liu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Of Clinical Preventive Medicine
lihualiu@usc.edu


James Lott

James Lott
Part-Time Lecturer for The Department of Preventive Medicine
jameslot@usc.edu


Stephanie Ly

Stephanie Ly
Part-Time Lecturer of Preventive Medicine
stephanie.ly@med.usc.edu


Thomas Mack

Thomas Mack, M.D., M.P.H.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
tmack@usc.edu


Wendy Mack

Wendy Mack, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
wmack@usc.edu


Nicholas Mancuso

Nicholas Mancuso, PhD
Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine
nmancuso@usc.edu


Paul Marjoram

Paul Marjoram, Ph.D.
Professor Of Research Preventive Medicine
pmarjora@usc.edu


Tyler Mason

Tyler Mason, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
tylermas@usc.edu


Rob McConnell

Rob McConnell, M.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
rmcconne@usc.edu


Roberta McKean-Cowdin

Roberta McKean-Cowdin, Ph.D.
Director of Doctor of Philosophy in Epidemiology Program
Associate Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine

mckeanco@usc.edu


Daniella Meeker

Daniella Meeker, PhD
Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine; Director of Clinical Research Informatics
dmeeker@usc.edu


Kristin Meyer

Kristin Meyer, PhD
Clinical Assistant Professor of Preventive Medicine (Part-Time)
meyerkri@usc.edu


Huaiyu Mi

Huaiyu Mi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Of Research Preventive Medicine
huaiyumi@usc.edu


Joel Milam

Joel Milam, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Research Preventive Medicine; Head of Health Behavior Research Postdoctoral Program; Program Leader for Cancer Control
milam@usc.edu


Kimberly Miller

Kimberly Miller, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor Of Clinical Preventive Medicine
kim.miller@med.usc.edu


Joshua Millstein

Joshua Millstein, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Research Preventive Medicine; Interim Director of Biostatistics Core
millstei@usc.edu


Joyce Nakashima

Joyce Nakashima
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
joycenak@usc.edu


Elahe Nezami

Elahe Nezami, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine and Medical Education (Educational Scholar); Associate Dean for Undergraduate, Masters and Professional Programs, Keck School of Medicin
nezami@usc.edu


Lawrence Palinkas

Lawrence Palinkas, Ph.D.
Frances Lomas Feldman Chair in Social Policy and Health. Chair, Department of Children, Youth and Families Professor of Social Work, Anthropology and Preventive Medicine
palinkas@usc.edu


Raina Pang

Raina Pang, PhD
Assistant Professor of Research Preventive Medicine
rpang@usc.edu


Amy Parish

Amy Parish
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
parish@usc.edu


Cecilia Patino Sutton

Cecilia Patino Sutton, Ph.D., MD, MeD
Associate Professor Of Preventive Medicine (Educational Scholar)
patinosu@usc.edu


Paula Patnoe-Woodley

Paula Patnoe-Woodley
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
woodley@usc.edu


Maryann Pentz

Maryann Pentz, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine; Sidney R. Garfield Chair in Health Sciences; Director, Institute for Prevention Research
pentz@usc.edu


Jin Piao

Jin Piao, PhD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
jpiao@usc.edu


Trevor Pickering

Trevor Pickering
Part-Time Lecturer of Preventive Medicine
tpickeri@usc.edu


Linda Polfus

Linda Polfus, PhD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
polfus@usc.edu


Demetrios Psihopaidas

Demetrios Psihopaidas
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
psihopai@usc.edu


Sheela Rao

Sheela Rao, MD
Clinical Associate Professor of Pediatrics
srao@chla.usc.edu


Lindsay Renfro

Lindsay Renfro, PhD
Associate Professor of Research Preventive Medicine
lrenfro@usc.edu


Christine Ricardo

Christine Ricardo
Part-Time Lecturer of Preventive Medicine
cricardo@usc.edu


Anamara Ritt

Anamara Ritt, PhD
Assistant Professor Of Clinical Preventive Medicine
ritt@usc.edu


Louise Rohrbach

Louise Rohrbach, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Director of MPH Program
Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine

rohrbac@usc.edu


Veronica Setiawan

Veronica Setiawan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Preventive Medicine
vsetiawa@usc.edu


Parvin Shahlapour

Parvin Shahlapour
Part-Time Lecturer
shahlapo@usc.edu


Darryl Shibata

Darryl Shibata
Professor of Pathology
dshibata@usc.edu


Kimberly Siegmund

Kimberly Siegmund, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
kims@usc.edu


Sabrina Smiley

Sabrina Smiley, PhD
Assistant Professor of Research Preventive Medicine
slsmiley@usc.edu


Kathryn Smith

Kathryn Smith, RN, DrPH
Associate Professor
kasmith@chla.usc.edu


Claradina Soto

Claradina Soto, PhD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
toya@usc.edu


Jane Steinberg

Jane Steinberg, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
janestei@usc.edu


Mariana Stern

Mariana Stern, Ph.D.
Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine and Urology
marianas@usc.edu


Daniel Stram

Daniel Stram, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
stram@usc.edu


Steven Sussman

Steven Sussman, Ph.D., FAAHB, FAPA
Professor of Preventive Medicine
ssussma@usc.edu


Duncan Thomas

Duncan Thomas, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine; Verna R. Richter Chair in Cancer Research
dthomas@usc.edu


Paul Thomas

Paul Thomas, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine; Director, Division of Bioinformatics
pdthomas@usc.edu


Stella Tommasi

Stella Tommasi, PhD
Assistant Professor Of Research Preventive Medicine
tommasi@usc.edu


Amytis Towfighi

Amytis Towfighi, MD
Associate Professor of Neurology Clinical Scholar(dual appointment in PM)
towfighi@usc.edu


Jennifer Tsai

Jennifer Tsai, PhD
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
tsaijy@usc.edu


Jennifer Unger

Jennifer Unger, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine; Associate Training Director
unger@usc.edu


Thomas Valente

Thomas Valente, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine Interim Chair of Preventive Medicine
tvalente@usc.edu


David Van Den Berg

David Van Den Berg, PhD
Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
dvandenb@usc.edu


Sivarama Vinjamury

Sivarama Vinjamury
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
svinjamu@usc.edu


Jun Wang

Jun Wang, MD
Assistant Professor Of Research Preventive Medicine
junw@usc.edu


Richard Watanabe

Richard Watanabe, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
rwatanab@usc.edu


Kathleen West

Kathleen West, DrPH, MPH
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
westk@usc.edu


Joseph Wiemels

Joseph Wiemels
Professor of Preventive Medicine
wiemels@usc.edu


Leslie Wills

Leslie Wills
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
lwills@usc.edu


Melissa Wilson

Melissa Wilson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
melisslw@usc.edu


Heather Wipfli

Heather Wipfli, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine and International Relations
hwipfli@usc.edu


Mellissa Withers

Mellissa Withers, PhD, MHS
Associate Professor of Clinical Preventive Medicine
mwithers@usc.edu


Anna Wu-Williams

Anna Wu-Williams, Ph.D.
Professor of Preventive Medicine
annawu@usc.edu


Jenny Yu

Jenny Yu
Part-Time Lecturer for the Department of Preventive Medicine
jennycyu@usc.edu